Math, Maybe.

Yes, I did check out an SAT Math I book from the library.  Yes, I know I was an English major and that I’m not in school anymore.  Nor am I tutoring anyone in math (as if).

I checked out a math book from the library because I have noticed more and more how much I am losing my math skills, and I don’t want them to disappear.  I haven’t done any formal math since my AP Stats class my senior year of high school.  No wonder why it takes me so long to do some simple addition or subtraction.

It’s the sad truth of “use it or lose it,” and while I know perfectly well that I will never purposefully enter an industry that involves a lot of math, I don’t want to rely on my husband to help our non-existent future children with their math homework for their entire educational career.

img_4698

Now, you might be thinking I’m crazy for giving myself unnecessary homework in life.  But if you knew Tammy of Younger Years, you wouldn’t really be that surprised at all.

I’ve always loved playing school with my stuffed animals, and I’ve always been that oddball child that enjoyed giving myself worksheets of homework (mostly math) to do during the summer when school wasn’t in session.  I was a weird child indeed.  I think it was the fact that it was something I could challenge myself with minus the pressures of deadlines and grades during the school year.  I wasn’t disciplined enough to necessarily keep up with something weekly or regularly – I wasn’t THAT crazy – but I was internally motivated enough to do something like that every summer.

In any case, I’m not doing so well so far.  I worked on 10 questions almost every day of the first model test to see what I remember and what I need to work on, and it turns out I basically skipped half the test and got a whole bunch wrong of the ones I answered.

It was a little disappointing, given the fact that I was so good at Math A (close to Algebra I?), and had a more difficult time with Math B, which is not the math this practice book is covering.  Sigh.  But hey, it’s just further proof as to why I need to work on this.

Now comes the fun part of going back through the questions, why I got them wrong, seeing if I understand what I did wrong, and then going back through the beginning of the book to review the different types of problems and rules.  Fun, because no one is requiring this of me.  Fun, because I like to get better at things and keep my mind sharp.  Fun, because my husband is a math machine and loves helping me with my questions – which means that he won’t be annoyed by my slew of questions 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

